On October 5th, 2021 the Virginia Beach City Council voted to appoint Linwood Branch to the Lynnhaven District seat recently vacated by Jim Vote. Other candidates interviewed and considered as finaliats were Holly Cuellar, Carla Hesseltine, and Richard Maddox. The final vote tally was as follows:

Voting for Branch – Mayor Dyer, Vice-Mayor Wilson, Councilmembers Berlucchi, Henly, Holcomb, and Jones

Voting for Richard Maddox – Councilmembers Moss, Rouse Tower, and Wilson

Prior to the vote, DTRT President spoke to council about the importance of doing the right thing and not appointing someone like Linwood Branch, who would do irreparable harm to the future of our city. You can read DTRT’s full statement opposing Mr. Branch’s appoint here.